Artists and architecture, variable dimensions

56 french and foreign artists

For the first time, the Pavillon de l’Arsenal dedicates all of its exhibition space to contemporary art. Fifty six French and international artists, some renowned and others emerging, put in question and challenge Architecture, its issues and stakes, through one of their works.

Installations, videos, sculptures, sound devices, drawings, photos, paintings...These pieces, exceptional loans from private collectors, artists or galleries, compose a unique overview, put together for the first time. This true archipelago of creations, filtered through the different architectural issues, explores the physical and virtual fluxes, redefines urban times and public usage, questions temporality and globalisation as well as nature’s place and collaborative economy where spaces and measurements interact, to rethink architecture, not only in its physical substance but also as a social organisation.

This new urban landscape also inflects in the role played by cities, urbanism and buildings in the practical and conceptual research of contemporary artists. The bilingual book conceived by Didier Gourvennec Ogor and Gregory Lang guest curators for this exhibition- bears witness to this. The book contains over 260 works, gathered from a field research, and from experimental discoveries during their visits to fairs, collections and artists studios.

Artists and Architecture, Variable dimensions, is based on the conviction that artists highlight and reveal potentials capable of enriching and transforming our shared ambitions to build together the world city of tomorrow.

Panel of Artists

Vito Acconci
Daniel Arsham
Renaud Auguste-Dormeuil
Thomas Bayrle
Christophe Berdaguer
& Marie Péjus
Pierre Besson
Julien Bismuth
Mel Bochner
Marie Bovo
Nathalie Brevet_Hughes Rochette
stanley brouwn
Alain Bublex
Heidi Bucher
Daniel Buren
Pedro Cabrita Reis
James Casebere
Jordi Colomer
Stéphane Couturier
François Dallegret
Denicolai & Provoost
Larissa Fassler
Martine Feipel & Jean Bechameil
Jean-Pascal Flavien
Zachary Formwalt
Peter Friedl
Carlos Garaicoa
Anne-Valérie Gasc
Liam Gillick
Pierre-Jean Giloux
Geert Goiris
Dan Graham
Carsten Höller
avec Philippe Parreno
Anish Kapoor
Jonier Marin
Matthieu Martin
Gordon Matta-Clark
Rita McBride
Dean Monogenis
Nicolas Moulin
Matt Mullican
Bruce Nauman
Olaf Nicolai
Julian Opie
Giulio Paolini
Enoc Perez
Alexandre Périgot
Tabor Robak
Yvan Salomone
Peter Scott
Richard Serra
Timothée Talard
Bert Theis
Lawrence Weiner